Hempstead  Public Library
Back / Home / Catalog / Contact Us
Having trouble viewing this newsletter? Click Here

Thrillers and Suspense June 2014
"The real story is even more harrowing than the one I wrote."
~ Brian Haig, American author, on The Hunted
New and Recently Released!
Sting of the Drone - by Richard A. Clarke
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 05/13/2014
Share Sting of the Drone ISBN-13: 9781250047977
ISBN-10: 1250047978
Thriller. Counterterrorism expert Richard Clarke's chillingly plausible tale centers on the consequences of using drones in lethal attacks half a world away. In Sting of the Drone, a survivor of a drone attack uses his contacts to declare war on the drone program and its operators. Soon, they're being killed off one by one as a team scrambles to protect them. Full of technical details when it comes to the U.S. military and its state-of-the-art weaponry, this thriller provides plenty of insider information and rising tension -- and "sets the standard" by which other thrillers will be judged (Publishers Weekly).
The Book of You: A Novel - by Claire Kendal
Publisher: HarperCollins
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 05/06/2014
Share The Book of You%3a A Novel ISBN-13: 9780062297600
ISBN-10: 0062297600
Psychological Suspense. After a disturbing evening with a colleague about which she remembers little but suspects plenty, university administrator Clarissa Bourne becomes the unwilling target of this man's constant texts, calls, visits, and gifts. Jury duty comes as a relief, until Clarissa realizes that the violent crime unfolding in front of the jury box has parallels to her own life -- and demonstrates just how easily her experiences could be discredited. Her colleague's obsession with her has crossed the line between fantasy and reality, and his threats escalate as she begins friendships with other jurors. "Troubling, raw, and gripping" says Publishers Weekly of this suspenseful debut.
The Intern's Handbook: A Thriller - by Shane Kuhn
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 04/08/2014
Share The Intern ISBN-13: 9781476733807
ISBN-10: 1476733805
Suspense Fiction. Written in the form of a handbook for new recruits at Human Resources, Inc. (more on that in a minute), this darkly funny, violent tale offers plenty of surprises. For one, HR, Inc. has nothing to do with payrolls or benefits -- rather, it trains society's discarded children to become successful assassins/interns in corporate America. At 24, John Lago is nearing the mandatory retirement age, but he's got one last internship, during which he's supposed to kill a law partner who's been selling the names of people in the witness protection program. His plans, however, may be thwarted by a pretty colleague at the law firm who might also be hiding her true motivation for her employment there. Fans of Josh Bazell's Beat the Reaper or Duane Swierczynski's Severance Package will likely enjoy this clever, graphic, and fast-paced debut.
Plaster City - by Johnny Shaw
Publisher: Thomas Mercer
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 05/01/2014
Share Plaster City ISBN-13: 9781477817582
ISBN-10: 1477817581
Suspense Fiction. In this 2nd Jimmy Veeder "fiasco" (as the author calls them), former brawler Jimmy's leading a quiet (dull) sort of life when his oldest friend, Bobby, involves him in a search for his teenage daughter, who has disappeared. Comedy mixes with the ugly side of human nature as the two men come up with a "plan" (beer, guns, and cigarettes feature) to save the girl, who may not actually want to be saved. Fans of Rick Gavin's Nick Reid novels or Joe Lansdale's series starring Hap Collins and Leonard Pine will likely enjoy this California-set mix of violence and comedy.
Based on Real...
Infamous - by Ace Atkins
Publisher: Berkley Books
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 04/05/2011
Share Infamous ISBN-13: 9780425239018
ISBN-10: 0425239012
Historical Suspense. In this action-packed novel, author Ace Atkins vividly recreates the career of real-life gangster George "Machine Gun" Kelly, a small-time crook who, urged by his ambitious wife, takes on his biggest job ever: kidnapping wealthy Oklahoma oilman Charles Urschel. But with other gangsters anxious for a piece of the action and a persistent federal agent hot on his trail, can the new "Public Enemy No. 1" survive the big time -- or will he end up doing hard time? If 1930s gangsters interest you, you can also try Elmore Leonard's The Hot Kid or Max Allan Collins' graphic novel Road to Perdition, though as real and colorful as they might seem, neither of these are based on historical figures or events. Or, try Atkins' other historical suspense novels based on real people and events, Devil's Garden, Wicked City, or White Shadow.
The Network: A Novel - by Jason Elliot
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 07/17/2012
Share The Network%3a A Novel ISBN-13: 9781608198467
ISBN-10: 1608198464
Spy Fiction. With its slower pace and strongly depicted setting, this tale of a pre-9/11 mission in Afghanistan will appeal to readers wanting an in-depth look at the dangers of Al Qaeda. Newly recruited by the British Secret Service, explosives expert Anthony Taverner is sent to retrieve or destroy a couple of Stinger missiles before they are captured by terrorists and used against civilians. But first he must undergo extensive training -- psychological, physical, and weapons-based. Chillingly, this novel is based on real people and real events; suspense and betrayals abound.
The Second Objective - by Mark Frost
Publisher: Hyperion
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 05/15/2007
Share The Second Objective ISBN-13: 9781401302221
ISBN-10: 140130222X
Historical Suspense. It's late in 1944 and the Nazis have launched a last-ditch attempt to defeat the Allies: 2,000 English-speaking Nazi soldiers familiar with American culture are to be disguised as American soldiers in order to infiltrate the enemy's defenses. Of the 2,000 men led by Lieutenant Colonel Otto Skorzeny, 20 have a secret second agenda -- an assassination that will change the course of history. The only man to figure out what the Germans are up to is a former NYC policeman, who will need all his wits and training to defeat the nefarious Nazi plot. Publishers Weekly calls the meld of fact (it's based on a Nazi plot called "Operation Greif," which actually did involve German soldiers dressed as Allies) and fiction "thriller gold."
The Hunted - by Brian Haig
Publisher: Grand Central
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 07/27/2010
Share The Hunted ISBN-13: 9780446195607
ISBN-10: 044619560X
Suspense Fiction. Alex Konevitch made a lot of money in the Russian construction business by working hard and making smart decisions. But he also made some enemies along the way, which becomes exceedingly clear when a KGB higher-up steals his company and his wealth and frames him for several crimes. Fleeing with his wife to the U.S., Alex struggles amid these false accusations -- and the hard-earned knowledge that his new homeland is just as rife with corruption as his old one. Based on a true story, this fast-paced thriller will appeal to readers who enjoy tales of government-sanctioned victimization.
The Butterfly Cabinet: A Novel - by Bernie McGill
Publisher: Free Press
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 05/01/2012
Share The Butterfly Cabinet%3a A Novel ISBN-13: 9781451611601
ISBN-10: 1451611609
Historical Suspense. In 1892, Harriet Ormond, the mistress of Oranmore House, was sent to prison for killing her four-year-old daughter, Charlotte, by binding her hands and shutting her inside a wardrobe. In 1968, Harriet's granddaughter Anna visits 92-year-old Maddie McGlade, a nursing home resident who was a servant at the estate at the time of Charlotte's death, seeking answers. Alternating between Maddie's account of her years at Oranmore and Harriet's own diary, this "chilling and gripping" (Booklist) novel slowly pieces together what really happened on that fateful day. Loosely based on a true story, The Butterfly Cabinet combines gothic suspense with an examination of social class and politics in late-19th-century Northern Ireland.
Contact your librarian for more great books!
If you are having trouble unsubscribing to this newsletter, please contact the Hempstead Public Library at
516-481-6990, 115 Nichols Court, Hempstead, NY 11550

© 2017 EBSCO Publishing, Powered by The Title Source TM