Hempstead  Public Library
Back / Home / Catalog / Contact Us
Having trouble viewing this newsletter? Click Here

Fantasy June 2014
"I was thinking, 'So, I'm Emperor, am I? What nonsense! But at least I'll be able to make people read my books now.'"
~ Robert Graves (1895-1985), English poet and novelist, I, Claudius
New and Recently Released!
The Goblin Emperor - by Katherine Addison
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 04/01/2014
Share The Goblin Emperor ISBN-13: 9780765326997
ISBN-10: 076532699X
Fantasy. When his estranged father, Emperor Varenechibel of the Elflands, perishes in an airship crash, 18-year-old Maia Drazhar is recalled from exile and proclaimed heir to the Elfin imperial throne of Ethuveraz. Maia, whose late mother was a goblin, is immediately transformed from pariah to messiah -- attracting sycophants, schemers, and enemies in short order. If Maia is to survive life at court, let alone rule, he'll need to distinguish false friends from true and use his wits to navigate a treacherous world of conspiracy and political intrigue. Don't miss this unusual combination of high fantasy, mystery, and political drama with steampunk elements.
Steles of the Sky - by Elizabeth Bear
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 04/08/2014
Share Steles of the Sky ISBN-13: 9780765327567
ISBN-10: 0765327562
Epic Fantasy. This conclusion to the Iskryne World trilogy (after Range of Ghosts and Shattered Pillars) follows warrior Re Tamur as he journeys to the Dragon Lake and stakes his claim as heir to the Khaganate, his grandfather's empire. However, he'll have to raise an army to challenge his usurping uncle, the blood-sorcerer al-Sepehr, who heads the assassin cult of the Nameless. With the help of his allies -- the wizard Samarkar, shapeshifting Cho-tse warrior Hrahima, and silent monk Brother Hsiung -- Re Tamur takes a stand that will result either in victory or death. Inspired by Mongolian history, this dramatic and richly detailed novel boasts compelling characters and extensive world-building.
Queen of the Dark Things - by C. Robert Cargill
Publisher: HarperCollins
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 05/13/2014
Share Queen of the Dark Things ISBN-13: 9780062190451
ISBN-10: 0062190458
Contemporary Fantasy. In this sequel to Dreams and Shadows, Colby Stevens is now the most powerful wizard in the world. However, achieving his goal has exacted its toll on the young man and Colby now prefers his quiet, solitary life as the protector of his chosen city of Austin, Texas. Alas, the rise of a dangerous entity known as the Queen of the Dark Things will send Colby abroad to Australia, where he must confront unsavory aspects of his past in order to ensure humanity's future. For another coming-of-age story of ambitious young adults whose desire for magical power comes at a terrible price, check out Lev Grossman's Magician series.
Unwrapped Sky - by Rjurik Davidson
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 04/15/2014
Share Unwrapped Sky ISBN-13: 9780765329882
ISBN-10: 0765329883
Science Fantasy. First introduced in author Rjurik Davidson's short story collection The Library of Forgotten Books, the city-state of Caeli-Amur has experienced a steady decline since its technological heyday a century ago. Rival factions vie for wealth and power as Minotaurs roam the streets, the insectoid Elo-Talern operate behind the scenes, and civil unrest threatens to erupt into violence. When philosopher-assassin Kata receives her assignment to spy on the members of a revolutionary group, she views it as an opportunity to gain her long-desired freedom. Then she meets thaumaturgist Maximilian, who plans to use information from the Great Library of the sunken city of Caeli-Enas to overthrow the ruling classes and restore the peoples' rights. This debut's meticulous world-building and New Weird ambiance may appeal to fans of Jeff Vandermeer's Ambergris Cycle or China Miéville's Bas-Lag novels.
Thornlost - by Melanie Rawn
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 04/29/2014
Share Thornlost ISBN-13: 9780765328786
ISBN-10: 076532878X
Fantasy. The renowned Touchstone theater troupe delights audiences with its unique magic-infused spectacles. Wizard Cade is the "tregetour," a blend of playwright and director; elven Mieka Windthistle is the "glisker" or illusionist; Jeska is the "master," playing all the parts; and Rafe is the "fettler," or stage manager. However, Cade's mix of human, elven, and fae blood gives him the power to see a range of possible futures -- and most of them look very bad for his friends. Thornlost is the 3rd book in the Glass Thorns series, after Touchstone and Elsewhens.
Focus on: Librarians
The Spirit Lens: A Novel of the Collegia Magica - by Carol Berg
Publisher: Roc
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 01/05/2010
Share The Spirit Lens%3a A Novel of the Collegia Magica ISBN-13: 9780451463111
ISBN-10: 0451463110
Historical Fantasy. In the kingdom of Sabria, where magic and natural science vie for supremacy, King Phillipe survives an assassination attempt that shows signs of sorcery. To find the culprit, he turns to distant relative Portier de Duplais, a failed student of magic who has since carved out a career as the Collegia Magica's head librarian. With the help of foppish nobleman Ilario de Sylvae and brilliant-but-dangerous sorcerer Dante, Portier must navigate a world of treachery and intrigue to solve the case. This Renaissance-flavored blend of fantasy and mystery by Bridge of D'Arnath series author Carol Berg is the 1st of the Collegia Magica novels, followed by The Soul Mirror and The Daemon Prism.
Nice Girls Don't Have Fangs - by Molly Harper
Publisher: Pocket Star Books
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 03/31/2009
Share Nice Girls Don ISBN-13: 9781416589426
ISBN-10: 1416589422
Urban Fantasy. After getting fired from her job at Half Moon Hollow, Kentucky's public library, Jane Jameson meets Gabriel Nightengale while drowning her sorrows at local watering hole Shenanigans. What could have been a one-night stand takes a wrong turn when Jane is shot by an unknown assailant. Gabriel gallantly steps in to save her -- but he's a vampire, not a doctor, which means that all he can do is turn her into a vampire like himself. Although the Newly Undead Welcoming Committee's gift basket is a nice touch, every other aspect of Jane's (after)life is a total mess -- and that's before she's accused of murder. Amusing and offbeat, Nice Girls Don't Have Fangs kicks off the Jane Jameson series.
Libriomancer - by Jim C. Hines
Publisher: DAW Books
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 08/07/2012
Share Libriomancer ISBN-13: 9780756407391
ISBN-10: 0756407397
Urban Fantasy. Centuries ago, Johannes Gutenberg founded The Porters, a secret society of "libriomancers" who possess the magical power to extract objects from books. Now, however, Gutenberg has gone missing, vampires (ranging from Dracula to Twilight-esque "sparklers") are attacking, and only former field agent Isaac Vainio, currently assigned to catalog the Copper River Library's entire fantasy and science fiction collection, can save the day. Fortunately, he's got the assistance of his loyal pet fire-spider, Smudge, and voluptuous dryad Lena Greenwood. Unfortunately, his stalwart companions can be as distracting as they are helpful. Libriomancer is the action-packed, humorous, and highly metafictional 1st book in the Magic ex Libris series, followed by Codex Born.
Harvest of Changelings - by Warren Rochelle
Publisher: Golden Gryphon Press
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 05/28/2007
Share Harvest of Changelings ISBN-13: 9781930846463
ISBN-10: 1930846460
Contemporary Fantasy. Ten years ago, North Carolina librarian Ben Tyson married Valeria of the Daoine Sidhe, a fey woman who bore him a son, Malachi, before she was murdered by the evil Formorii. Now Malachi's powers are beginning to manifest, but he can't control them and Ben doesn't know enough about magic to protect his son from the Formorii. Ben's best bet is to take Malachi to the land of Faerie before the Formorii can get their hands on the boy, but the pair will need loyal allies and supernatural assistance if they want to survive the journey.
Worldsoul - by Liz Williams
Publisher: Diamond Comic Distributors
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 05/29/2012
Share Worldsoul ISBN-13: 9781607012955
ISBN-10: 1607012952
Science Fantasy. Existing outside of spacetime, Worldsoul occupies a nexus point between dimensions and its fabled Library serves as the access point to the Liminality's infinite worlds. Until recently, Worldsoul was ruled by the Skein -- who inexplicably vanished, leaving a power vacuum to be filled by one of two rival factions: Courtiers and Librarians. Dedicated to her work, Librarian Mercy Fane prefers to stay out of the fray. However, when a strange creature attacks the stacks, Mercy joins forces with Shadow, an alchemist possessed by an ifrit, and Perra, a sphinx, to locate the enemy and protect her beloved Library. This descriptive, intricately plotted novel by the author of the popular Detective Inspector Chen fantasy mystery series should please readers who enjoy a fast-paced, inventive story set in a captivating and richly detailed world.
Contact your librarian for more great books!
If you are having trouble unsubscribing to this newsletter, please contact the Hempstead Public Library at
516-481-6990, 115 Nichols Court, Hempstead, NY 11550

© 2017 EBSCO Publishing, Powered by The Title Source TM